Venice masks

Wednesday, 24 August 2016

To the Muse - Aleksandr Blok

In your hidden memories
There are fatal tidings of doom
A curse on sacred traditions,
A desecration of happiness;

Tuesday, 23 August 2016

We Have Astonished - Pierre-Jean Jouve

We have astonished by our great suffering
The inclination of indifferent stars

Monday, 22 August 2016

The Wisdom of Dede Korkut - Dede Korkut

Unless one calls on God, no work prospers;
         unless God grants, no man grows rich.

Sunday, 21 August 2016

Ascension - Ric Ohge

The elect stand
in the holies,
hidden in the
shrines and temples,
the places of power,
of old names-older ones
still, forgotten in the
dust of those fallen.

Saturday, 20 August 2016

Street Scene by L.S. Lowry - Henry Graham

L.S. Lowry
is my name
painting streets
is my game

Friday, 19 August 2016

Before the Convent of Yuste, 1556 - August von Platen-Hallermünde

’Tis night, and storms continually roar,
Ye monks of Spain, unbar for me the door.

Thursday, 18 August 2016

Wynken, Blynken, and Nod - Eugene Field

 Wynken, Blynken, and Nod one night
   Sailed off in a wooden shoe,—
Sailed on a river of crystal light
   Into a sea of dew.
“Where are you going, and what do you wish?”
   The old moon asked the three.
“We have come to fish for the herring-fish
   That live in this beautiful sea;
   Nets of silver and gold have we,"
            Said Wynken,
            Blynken,
            And Nod.

Wednesday, 17 August 2016

Narcissist Advice Column - Hinemoana Baker

Pepper blacks the pan so never shake it near me.
Wait for the flagrant animation in my bedroom, in my bed base.

Tuesday, 16 August 2016

Naming The Dawn - Rafael Alberti

               With gentle red assaults, Dawn, I was granting you names:
Mistaken dream, Angel without exit, Falsehood of rain in the trees.

Monday, 15 August 2016

the stone collector’s song - Sjón

i remember the thirst and the darkness
i remember one-way streets
i remember closed alleys
and you