Venice masks

Saturday, 22 October 2016

from Alasdair of Glengarry - Sìleas na Ceapaich

You were the yew above every forest,
You were the strong steadfast oak,

Friday, 21 October 2016

The Swan - Gavril Romanovich Derzhavin

I'll leave the mortal world behind,
Take wing in an flight fantastical,
With singing, my eternal soul
Will rise up swan-like in the air.

Thursday, 20 October 2016

Wednesday, 19 October 2016

Lullaby of the Onion - Miguel Hernández

The onion is frost
shut in and poor.
Frost of your days
and of my nights.
Hunger and onion,
black ice and frost
large and round.

Tuesday, 18 October 2016

Exhortation to Battle - Callinus

How long will ye slumber? when will ye take heart
And fear the reproach of your neighbours at hand?

Monday, 17 October 2016

The Sea-Migrations - Caasha Lul Mohamud Yusuf

Declaiming this poem, a gabay1, I alliterate in D to start debate,
to disseminate, to disclose to you: the public.
Hey, you - be diligent! I'm trying though it's difficult
to destroy the injustice, demolish the status quo.
Sea-migration disables my people, I want to drive it back.

Sunday, 16 October 2016

Vondel's Lucifer (Act I, lines 122-172) - Joost van den Vondel

No creature hath on high mine eye so pleased
As those below. Who could so subtly soul
With body weave and two-fold Angels form
From clay and bone? The body's shapely mould
Attests the Maker's art, that in the face,
The mirror of the mind, doth best appear.

Saturday, 15 October 2016

My sweet youthfulness is gone - Pierre de Ronsard

My sweet youthfulness is gone,
my early strength is broken;
I have black teeth and white hair;

Friday, 14 October 2016

A stir for Seacole - Anonymous

Dame Seacole was a kindly old soul,
And a kindly old soul was she;
You might call for your pot, you might call for your pipe,
In her tent on "the Col" so free.

Thursday, 13 October 2016

i’d like you to go with me - Ana Paula Inácio

i’d like you to go with me
through life
like a sail