Saturday, 25 March 2017

The one I saw again - Jean Portante

                    The one I saw again
two days ago kept sewing
the same wound up again:

Friday, 24 March 2017

I’m Scared! - Adamou Idé

I’m scared!
 Yes, I do not conceal it from you
 I say it: I’m scared!

Thursday, 23 March 2017

Weaving - Cresantia Frances Koya-Vaka‘uta

                              Pacific               Women                 Weave
Weaving               woven                 patterns
                                     Pictures                in the                     loom of life
Mosaics                 of culture              and family

Wednesday, 22 March 2017

The Lusiad (extract) - Luís Vas de Camões

Nam'd from her woods, with fragrant bowers adorn'd,
From fair Madeira's purple coast we turn'd:

Sunday, 12 March 2017

The Christ-child - St Gregory of Narek

The lips of the Christ-child are like to twin leaves;
They let roses fall when he smiles tenderly.

Saturday, 11 March 2017

Friday, 10 March 2017

The Young Wife's Dream - Siamanto

Year after year, sitting alone at my window,
I gaze on thy path, my pilgrim heart-mate,
And by this writing I wish once more to sing
The tremors of my body and mind, left without a guardian.

Thursday, 9 March 2017

I did not find Masood - Rua Salem

I did not find Masood
Or the shop.
Nor did I find my uncle.

Wednesday, 8 March 2017

The ghetto - Barnabé Laye

You are in the ghetto, my brother
You are in the ghetto.

Tuesday, 7 March 2017

The Mountain Wreath - Petar II Petrović-Njegoš

Montenegrins, do you see this wonder?
Fifty full years I've spun of my life's yarn.