Sunday, 30 July 2017

A Little Bird I Am - Madame Guyon

A little bird I am,
Shut in from fields of air,
And in my cage I sit and sing,
To him who placed me there;
Well pleased a prisoner to be,
Because, my God, it pleases thee!

Saturday, 29 July 2017

The Gazelle - Rainer Maria Rilke

Enchanted one: how can one harmonize
Two chosen words so as to reach the rhyme
Which comes and goes in you, as by a sign.
From out your forehead leaf and lyre arise,

Friday, 21 July 2017

My English - Zamir Osorov

It was very hard for me
to speak with the West
through translators,

Thursday, 20 July 2017

Reality - Rabia al-Basri

In love, nothing exists between heart and heart.
Speech is born out of longing,
True description from the real taste.

Wednesday, 19 July 2017

Sonnet - Michael Madhusudan Dutt

I am not rich, nay, nor the future heir
To sparkling gold or silver heaped on store;

Tuesday, 18 July 2017

Identity Apples - Mbizo Chirasha

I am a fat skeleton, resurrecting
From the sad memories of dada
And dark mysteries of animism
I am Buganda
I bleed hope

Monday, 17 July 2017

Security of Person - Lynn Sweeting

That I am here
writing,

not running
from bombs
of chemicals
or fire,

Sunday, 16 July 2017

Realization - Sri Ananda Acharya

I will keep the fire of hope ever burning on the altar of my soul,
I will feed it by day and by night with the fuel of industry and the oblation of thought,
Like a spring plant the great purpose is growing in the garden of my heart;

Saturday, 15 July 2017

Friday, 14 July 2017

Longing for the South - Konstantin Miladinov

If I had an eagle's wings
I would rise and fly on them
To our shores, to our own parts,
To See Stambol, to see Kukus,
And to watch the sunrise: is it
dim there too, as it is here?

Thursday, 13 July 2017

When my love was born - Anise Koltz

When my love was born
I washed it
From my right hand

Wednesday, 12 July 2017

Tuesday, 11 July 2017

Human Speech - Rahmat Fa'aola Pele

Human speech can be the sword that separates truth from falsehood
It brings victory to the defenders of justice

Monday, 10 July 2017

No illness but this place - Rajab Hamad Buhwaish al-Minifi

I have no illness but this place of Egaila,        
the imprisonment of my tribe
and separation from my kin’s abode.

Sunday, 9 July 2017

A hymn - Bede

A hymn of glory let us sing;
New songs throughout the world shall ring;
By a new way none ever trod
Christ mounteth to the throne of God.

Saturday, 8 July 2017

The Scowl of the Perpetual Dictator - Elvio Romero

What a difficult countenance!
What a complex countenance!
There’s something that draws me to his furrowed brow,
on his patriotic mission.

Friday, 7 July 2017

Who are You? - Gopalprasad Rimal

Here we are fond of our needs,
the vanity which hides them
is dear to us:

Thursday, 6 July 2017

Wednesday, 5 July 2017

Ice - Torkilk Mørch

In the heart of the ice is fire.
You can touch it, feel it,

Tuesday, 4 July 2017

Autopsychography - Fernando Pessoa

The poet is a man who feigns
And feigns so thoroughly, at last
He manages to feign as pain
The pain he really feels,

Monday, 3 July 2017

Oh Madagascar - Michael Parfait Andrianjaka

Oh Madagascar the holy
Big island next to Africa
The sea surrounds you
I love you, adore you, and will never deny you
Because you are so wonderful

Sunday, 2 July 2017

I look for you early - Solomon Ibn Gabirol

I look for you early,
my rock and my refuge,
offering you worship
morning and night;

Saturday, 1 July 2017

My Donkey Says - Reesom Haile

I put on my pants
One leg at a time
And my shoes one after the other.
What's to understand?